Temptation of Dragons (Penny White #1) *****
By Chrys Cymri

Penny White is a priest and a Doctor Who fan who has just been drafted into a secret branch of the clergy. When dragons, faeries, were-creatures and the like the UK, she steps in to make sure things don’t go sideways. Her partner from the other world is a widowed griffon she also keeps an eye on her kid brother. Religion is not my thing, but the priest stuff made Penny a very interesting character who I could relate to. Some of the stuff even made me a bit misty eyed. I’m kind of wimpy now that I’m a dad.

Cymri’s attention to detail was great! I was particularly fascinated by the size differences between the various sentient beings from Logor.  The topic of people riding dragons was another that had me fascinated. Dragons have spikey backs and those who wish to carry someone must chose to make alterations.

There is an interspecies romance central to the plot. The mature part of me contemplated the power of love to see past physical differences to the mind within and what makes every thinker the same. The part of me that is still entertained by bathroom stall poetry mused on the physical love a lady and her dragon might have. I’m giggling even now. 

My wife confirmed that we would not be intimate if I were somehow to become a dragon. Drat. She doesn’t want to be a cymech with me after our natural human lives end, either…

Fantasy is the greatest genre. Urban fantasy is fun because it takes everything great and hides between pop culture references. Cymri has added something great to the genre!

I was given a free review copy at my request and have voluntarily left a review. Any review. That fact that it’s a good one is because the book is good. Which has nothing to do with how awesome I am. You’ll have to find that out for yourself @S_Shane_Thomas on Twitter.

This book is a must read for fans of Doctor Who, Dragonriders of Pern, City of Bones, and detective stories.

Buy your copy here ------->

It's a link to the book that gives me part of Amazon's commission. It won't cost you any extra, but it will show me you enjoyed my review!

New! Comments

Have your say about what you just read! Leave me a comment in the box below.

Home> Book Reviews

Free Flash Fiction